Oops

It seems I forgot to blog in September. My bad. I can blame this on many things, but I suppose it comes down to two main issues, which are that a) I forgot and b) I must not have had much to say about anything.

Not that I don’t have anything to say. There is plenty going on that I have opinions about, but it often seems useless to voice said opinions. I’ve no wish to get into political bickering with anyone — a debate is one thing, but debates are sorely lacking these days — and although some people get some relief by shouting into the world, regardless of whether anyone hears them, I am not one of those people. If you are going to take the time to read this, I hope I give you something interesting to pass the time.

I did do another interview, and I should have posted the link earlier. Blak Rayne was kind enough to ask questions and post my answers on this blog.

What have I been doing, aside from that? Well. This September, both of my children started school. So now I have some time in the mornings, which I hope to use to write. So far, however, my muse (if I have one) is conspiring against me, as every time I turn around, there seems to be something to do and it needs to be done in the morning. It is  nice, however, to have some kid-free time. I love my kids, but a few hours without “Mommy, can I have/do/see….” is a nice change.

I have not been watching any TV news. I get enough news from the internet and it’s depressing. I don’t need Wolf Blitzer to add to it. And honestly, watching Mr. Blitzer is rather depressing in itself. The only time I had the TV on for news recently was during the shootings at the Washington Navy Yard in Washington, D.C. I used to live there, and still have friends there, so I was concerned. Believe it or not, I miss getting news from television, but it seems to me anymore that there is less news than there are shows with opinions about the news. I’m liberal, but equal opportunity about it — I don’t watch any of the channels.

I have been watching some series television and movies. I love movies. 🙂 For TV, my husband and I watched Broadchurch (careful, there may be spoilers here), from the UK, and which I highly recommend. For us, it was on BBC America. David Tennant was in no way Dr Who, and I mean that in the best way. The rest of it was excellent as well. Then Boardwalk Empire started, and I’m enjoying the season so far. For the fluffier side of things, we have Sleepy Hollow, which I think is suffering from first-year awkwardness but could easily improve, and S.H.I.E.L.D. Since Joss Whedon is involved in the latter, I have faith it will only go up.

For those of you who like little, indie movies, I recommend El Mariachi Gringo, which I stumbled upon last weekend while scanning the HBO On Demand listings. Warning; mariachi music featured heavily. Shawn Ashmore (Iceman from X-Men) plays a directionless young man in Kansas, who finds himself drawn to a mariachi musician and his family, and off to Guadalajara he goes. It’s a sweet, unpredictable movie devoid of explosions, smart-ass dialogue and cliché situations. What a nice change. And the scenery, both in Kansas and Mexico, is lovely.

Books… I have actually read some. Wish I could remember which, and I have more lined up. Never enough time for reading or writing, is there? I’ve just started Capote by Gerald Clarke, upon which the movie of the same name is based. I also watched that recently and again give it a full recommendation. Philip Seymour Hoffman is amazing as Truman Capote.

However, now that it is autumn, and school’s been in session for a month, I intend to blog on a more regular basis, and also to write more. It just remains how to manage that time, and isn’t time management easier said than done?

So thanks for reading, and I aim to give you more to read.

2 responses to this post.

  1. SA Penn Lady, glad you’ve got time to write. I’ve got time, but nothing to write about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

