What I’ve been doing

You know I haven’t been writing. What I have been doing these last few months is crocheting. One nice thing about that is I don’t need an editor. πŸ™‚ Of course it means I can’t write while I’m doing it (or eat, which is a side benefit, really) but I figure since I’ve done a fair bit, I’d add in the pictures.

First there are the Victorian doll dresses. This is not because I’m a big doll person, but because I wanted to use up some yarn. And they worked up quickly, another plus. My son requested a Dalek, and I obliged. At Halloween, I made trick-or-treat bags (two of my own design, one following a pattern). Recently, I made each of my kids a minion (also my own design).

There are a few others, but those are the highlights. πŸ™‚

Sorry it’s a little disorganized. I haven’t figured out the picture stuff yet.

P000-256-283-468-7f032 Pict0349 P1010914 P1010913 P1010915 P1010690 P1010694 P1010702 P1010787 P1010938

 

 

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lady Falcon on February 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Those are gorgeous! I crochet as well but I stick to the afghans, scarves, and dish rags. I have done a couple hats and gloves but they are more difficult. Oh I made some poinsettia coasters one time and drag them out every Christmas. I have never attempted the dresses though….I remember having a few of them growing up from my Granny and an Aunt though. I love the Dalik! Have you ever thought of putting them on Etsy?

    Reply

    • Thanks (and sorry it took me so long to respond to this). I do like bigger projects like afghans. Mostly I like projects that do not require a lot of assembly. I don’t mind sewing the odd thing on, but putting stuffed animals and such together is not my favorite thing. The doll dresses fit the bill — they were fairly easy, worked up in one piece, and used up yarn.

      The Dalek pattern I found just searching Dr Who patterns. As for Etsy, many people have encouraged me to do that (and I’m flattered) but there are issues. Some people specify on their patterns that it is copyright (whether it formally is or not, I guess) and that you cannot sell the pattern or the product.

      My most recent projects are a pizza, with toppings, and a small blueberry.

      Reply

      • Posted by Lady Falcon on February 27, 2013 at 3:38 pm

        Huh, It shouldn’t be too hard to research the copyrights…I would think it would be public record who owned them or if they existed. However, no matter how easy it may or not be there is still the time it would take which is precious. As well as taking something you do for enjoyement or stress release and turning it into a business. I’ve had a few people over the years ask me for a scarf like what I made my youngest daughter. So far I’ve always put them off just because I don’t want to pressure. I crochet to ease stress and pressure. πŸ™‚

      • Yes, I know, but I’m lazy. πŸ˜‰ And yes, the problem with the craft stuff is the time. If I’m crocheting, I can’t be writing (darn), and vice versa. I sold some things when I first learned and was much younger, and have thought about it for the various craft bazaars in our neighborhood, but have never committed. My son has asked for a lobster. Sigh.

      • Posted by Lady Falcon on March 9, 2013 at 7:19 pm

        Ahh the requests from our children. πŸ™‚

  2. My latest requests were for a worm (daughter) and lobster (son). Both are done and I think the lobster turned out pretty darn good if I do say so myself. I even made up the pattern.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

