Here I wait…

Anyone get that song lyric? No? GTR. Anybody? Bueller? Now that I’ve dated myself, let’s move on. (And no, I’m not linking to REO Speedwagon’s “Ridin’ the Storm Out.” I will link to The Doors’ “Riders on the Storm.” 🙂 )

I am indeed waiting. I am right in the path of Hurricane Sandy, the “Frankenstorm.” Schools are closed, chairs are in the shed, Halloween decorations have been taken in, and we filled up pitchers of water just in case. We’ve also found our flashlights, batteries, radios (hey, a radio!) and did our shopping run. I have to say I found it highly amusing that creamy peanut butter was the survival food of choice. At my Walmart, the creamy PB was pretty much gone, although many jars of crunchy remained. I decided I wasn’t going to pay >$3/jar for creamy when I had some at home, along with crunchy.

It’s a weird thing to be waiting like this. In one sense it’s kind of fascinating that these days, we get so much warning on storms (last summer’s derecho notwithstanding, I guess). We can watch them from up close, from far away, we can watch as the outer bands of the storm come in, and as cameras blow around when the big stuff hits.

And isn’t it funny how everyone becomes an instant expert after a few hours’ exposure to The Weather Channel? Suddenly you can talk about bands, pressure, eyes, vectors, etc., as though you minored in meteorology.

This looks like serious stuff, no doubt. I’m pleased to see precautions, even big ones like evacuating the NJ coast, in place. I lived on one of those barrier islands when Hurricane Gloria came though in 1985. We went inland to my grandparents’ for the night, but not until we’d taped up windows and done whatever else needed doing. Luckily Gloria came through with almost no damage (I saw one thin uprooted tree in a front yard when we returned). This time there’s already flooding in Wildwood, and a portion (mostly unused) of the Atlantic City boardwalk is on the verge of being washed away. (And it has.)

As I said, though, it’s the waiting that’s weird. Here we’ve done all this stuff, and we’re hoping we’ve done it for nothing. Some had to be done anyway at some point, so I guess we consider this incentive.

I’d like to say I’m using this time for writing, but alas, such is not the case. There are still meals to be made, things to be cleaned, Halloween to be prepared for, etc.

Anyway, for anyone in the storm’s path (i.e., most of those east of the Mississippi), stay calm and safe and please follow the precautions and directives you get. A little inconvenience now is better than a lot of it later.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lady Falcon on October 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    I can sympathize with the waiting. When I was stationed at MacDill AFB in Tampa, FL for Hurricane Andrew….right after Katrina came through…we had to transfer our circuits to an alternate location and put our huge, building size satellite dish in the storm safe position it was very surreal watching it rotate to where we new there was no signal coming in and hear all the signal loss alarms go off inside the control center and then realize we as a a communications site was dead. It was a very strange experience to be apart of and then Andrew did a “u”ey and went back out to the Gulf.

    Stay safe yourself and let us know as soon as you can that all is well on your front.

    Reply

    • Thanks for the good wishes. We’re in a pretty good spot, really. The wind is kicking up now (4:30pm EDT), and we’ve had rain all day. Nothing like the NJ coast, though. I hope everyone got out, and I’m a little pissed at the ones that stayed. They’re endangering themselves, not to mention any first responders they may have to call.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

