King’s Bay

Summer’s not over yet, and to prove it I’ve entered a contest in Literotica’s Summer Lovin’ contest. It’s a stand-alone story, a somewhat different romance and I tried new things. If you read it, I hope you enjoy. It’s called “King’s Bay” and was inspired in part by Marillion’s “Cannibal Surf Babe.” (I promise there is no cannibalism involved. 🙂 )

Click here for the story.

Excerpt:

I kept my eyes ahead, scanning the water, but my senses were alert for Surfer Babe. Once I stopped, I sat up and looked around and there she was, on my left this time. I took advantage of a lull between waves to talk to her.

“Hey, I didn’t get your name.”

She smiled, a wicked little smile that curled me on the inside. “I never told you.”

“I’m Dizzy,” I offered.

She looked me up and down and arched an eyebrow. “Then maybe you shouldn’t surf.”

I laughed. “Call me Diz.”

“All right.”

I shivered at the sultry tone of her voice and the look on her face. You know how people say, “I could just eat you up!” She looked like she could eat me up, and I couldn’t say I’d mind. I liked assertiveness in a woman. Few things are sexier than a woman who knows what she wants and isn’t afraid to tell you. Surfer Babe looked like she could give classes in assertiveness.

I savored the shiver and grinned. “What’s your name? Or is it a secret?”

“Not a secret.”

“Then what should I call you?”

“Let’s see who gets in first. You win, I’ll give you a name.” She licked her lips and most of my blood rushed south.

We waited for a wave, then got into position when one came along. I beat her in by inches, and I wondered if she’d let me win. I’d improved over the day, but she had that ease in the water that I never would, no matter how much I practiced. She had some kind of connection, some innate ability, and some have it and some don’t.

We walked back to the crowd on the beach. People were kicking back now, snacking, drinking, smoking the occasional joint. It was as though there was no yesterday and no tomorrow, only the now. I liked the now.

I unstrapped the leash from my ankle, grabbed a towel and rubbed it over my face and hair. “So, gorgeous, what’s your name?”

She stared at me for a minute and I got that vertiginous feeling again.

“You can call me Callie.”

Thanks for reading!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Lady Falcon on August 31, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    I’m on page 3 and loving the story so far. I have to get back to work – lunch is just not long enough! lol As always Eve, you write beautifully and I can’t wait to see what’s up with Callie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

