Changes will be coming

I’ve received news that Republica Press, which currently publishes five of my e-books, will be closing on March 31. This is a bit of a surprise and is driven, in part, by the PayPal brouhaha/controversy/debacle, whatever you’d like to call it. However, it is also because well, running an e-press is a lot of work. I’m disappointed, of course, but would like to thank RP for getting me started, and all the help they’ve given since.

I think RP’s story shows that publishing is harder than many think. For everyone who says, “Oh, you can self-publish now,” this is true but — who will get your ISBN? Who will do your marketing? Your cover art? Etc. All of that takes time, and personally, I don’t have the time to do all that, write stories, take care of my family, etc.

The situation for now is that my books are still available on Republica Press and at places like Amazon for the rest of the month. This includes the Exiled series: Exiled, Young Blood and All Too Human. Also The Hunted Key and Melting the Ice, co-written with Tamara Clarke. As of April 1, they will be not be available via RP, although I am looking into self-publishing them to keep them available. My shorter works, The Collection and Light and the Darkness are still available via Yellow Silk Dreams and Amazon, and are not affected by RP’s closing.

I will be looking for a new publisher, and may in the interim self-publish these books on Amazon. I’ll let you know.

I’d like to thank RP again, as well as anyone who has purchased my books, from them or any other vendor. It means a lot.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lady Falcon on March 6, 2012 at 5:50 pm

    looks like i need to go by Amazon and get the other titles I’ve been meaning to check out. 🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Lady Falcon on March 6, 2012 at 6:41 pm

      Amazon wasn’t co-operating so I went to RP. Now I have a lot of reading to do, although I remember the first book in the Exiled series. Did you change it any from the Lit version?

      Reply

      • It was re-edited and such, but it was not changed in any substantial way. That is, the plot and characters are the same. I just tried to clear up any mistakes and make it flow better. Enjoy — feedback always welcome! 🙂

      • Posted by Lady Falcon on March 7, 2012 at 6:47 am

        I started out reading “The Hunted Key” because the synopsis and the prologue only sounded slightly familiar. I’m at the beginning of chapter 12 and realize I read this one when it was on Lit as well. I am enjoying it just as much as I remember enjoying it the last time I read it. I was really jazzed when I discovered I could mail the adobe attachment to my gmail account and read it on my new phone. That is the coolest thing I’ve seen lately! lol. But the story is really good and I can’t remember how it ends so I am still feeling the thrill when I read; just itching to see how the story plays out. :-)) In other words I am a really happy person right now. lol

      • THK went through the same process as Exiled. Posted, then taken down and revisited/revised, so that hopefully a stronger story was published. I have sequels in mind for it, but — like everything else, just haven’t had the time. Grrr.

      • Posted by Lady Falcon on March 8, 2012 at 9:16 am

        I just finished THK last night at way too late an hour for me to still be up. But, what are you gonna do when you got a good book in your hands? I hope the sequels come soon…lol. I want Julian and the lawyer to get together and Jillian and the woman that runs the shelter to get together. I also wanna see the cubs! I wanna see Jamie as a daddy…giggling..of girls!

        Gonna start on Exiled today. I may skim that one a bit because I remember a lot about that one, I think. I don’t think I ever read the sequels to it so I am excited to get started.

  2. Thanks so much, Eve. You were always a pleasure to work with.

    I completely agree with you that self-publishing is no picnic for writers. Although it’s always nice for a writer to get a larger percent of his/her book royalties, I don’t envy anyone for having to self-publish. You writers must already devote a large portion of time – you don’t have – to marketing your books via social networks and blogs like this one. It’s no surprise that the most famous self-publisher of all Amanda Hocking jumped at the first offer she received from a major publishing house.

    So my fingers are crossed that you’ll get picked up by another publisher soon.

    Reply

  3. Wow. Shocker. Sorry to hear this.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lady Falcon on March 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    Whew! I just finished “Exiled”. Holy Cow, you are good. You know I said I’d probably just skim it since I remembered it pretty well (that is saying something about how good it is right there) however, once I started it I couldn’t skip any of it. I got mad with the characters and scared with them and my heart was racing…it was FREAKING AWESOME! lol Why in heavens name didn’t I buy this a long time ago?

    Reply

    • LOL Thanks a lot. I’m glad to know you enjoyed it, especially b/c when I go back and read those I think, “OMG, I should change this and fix that and do this…” My husband said he’s not going to let me re-read any of my old stuff if I keep doing that. 😉

      Reply

      • Posted by Lady Falcon on March 9, 2012 at 10:05 pm

        Giggling…I understand. I already started “Young Blood”. And I’m hooked already. I never read this one before. *rubbing hands back and forth* I am SO looking forward to reading more.

        Did u get the email I sent about doing a chain story? Tamara has the 3 stories of mine I would like to see about submitting. She is thinking about it. I told her to take her time and no worries if nothing sparked. It was just a thought for something different.

      • Again, let me know what you think. 🙂 Young Blood is a little different, I think, in pacing and all, so I hope you like it.

        I did get your email and sorry I didn’t respond. I’m interested but busy. 🙂

  5. Posted by Lady Falcon on March 11, 2012 at 12:30 am

    Ok, Eve, I just finished Young Blood. It was very different. You left a couple loose ends or maybe you clear them up in the 3rd book. What happened to Moraine and the other vamps protecting Zashita? I think I spelled that right.

    Anyway, it was different but very good. I enjoyed the twists to your plots a great deal. I like the stories that keep me guessing on who is a good guy and who is a bad guy. I adored finding out Isaac was a vamp too.

    You are going to have to do like Christine Feehan did with one of her books and create a ‘Family’ Reunion. In Feehan’s book they all met for Christmas since so many of the mates were formally human. There has to be some kind of celebration amongst the magic beings that could be celebrated…a summer or winter solstice or something. I want to see them all interacting and find out what is going on in their lives. lol

    There is another clue the characters are well built…that a reader wants to know what happened in their lives. I want to see Angela as a new mom, can Sean be a daddy as a vamp?, Kori as a mom! omg….a Were who is a witch…ooooo! So many questions! lol

    I have to go email myself the 3rd book….good night!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Lady Falcon on March 13, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I finished ATH at work this morning. It is a wonderful series. Personally, I have always liked the idea of being mated and being turned into whatever the magical being responsible. How cool is it to be able to shape-shift or move super fast or whatever. However, I liked your twist on it. The complications of a couple where the human doesn’t get turned is interesting to think about and try to solve.

    I don’t like that Jura can’t have babies although I understand the difficulty with a vampire and all, but, it makes me sad. I’d love to watch her worry over her cubs. She will just have to do double time with her nieces and nephews. I still would like to know how things shake out in the Vampire world with Sean as the new King. I’d also like to see what all his new powers are.

    You are just going to have to write a 4th book! lol

    Reply

  7. Posted by blue on March 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    omg! i just read this entry and i’m kinda worried how i’ll be able to access those books in the future…i really, really hope you get a new publisher soon and re-issue those stories PLS PLS PLS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

