Not enough time in the day

So here I am at the end of January, and very little writing to show for the month. I’m finding the only thing more frustrating than hitting a block or plateau is wanting to write and feeling like circumstances conspire against you. (And the Flyers just lost, in the shoot out; pffft.)

I don’t know why, but for the last year or so, writing time has been very difficult to find. I’m sure it is for any of you who write, or whatever it is you do, when you try to balance home, family and everything else. I admit I’m kind of flummoxed, because prior to that year, it seemed like time was much easier to come by. I’m likely remembering wrong, but that’s how it feels.

I had such plans for last year, for writing, and almost none of it happened. I can’t tell you how jealous I get when I check my Facebook page or various forums and see people mention stories in progress, or finished, or anything else. I feel like I’m running to keep up and hurdles keep popping up.

So far this year, I’ve posted chapter eight of Rhythm and the Blue Line, and that’s it. I am working on the rest — it’s looking like another three chapters, perhaps — but there’s that time issue again. I write a Valentine’s Day story, but my beta reader pointed out some pretty basic issues, and I’ve pushed that back for now. I have ideas for it, and I think it can be salvaged, but it’ll have to wait.

I have to give lots of hugs to my husband, who does try to help, but sometimes events conspire even then. I find it’s a bit like being on vacation — by the time you relax enough to really get into it, you’re past the halfway point andย  you’re already looking at coming home. It’s like that with writing. When you’re faced with a two- or even three-hour window, sometimes it takes a good half an hour or more to relax so that you can get into the flow and then you feel like you’re under the gun to finish. I’m reminded of Rita Rudner, who commented when taking questions at the end of one of her shows, that this part was where she had to be funny all of a sudden (and, of course, she was).

Sometimes it feels like that with writing. “Okay, here’s some time — get creative. Three, two, one, now!” I actually tried to make a habit of getting up around 6:30am to try to get some writing done before everyone else got up. That lasted about a whole day, since my littlest one got up at 6:45am. I think that’s not for me anyway, as I’m simply not awake then. It’s not a matter of inhibitions being down and being able to think outside the box (I wish it was); it’s a matter of my synapses not firing and not really being able to think at all.

So much for morning creativity.

However, I am working to make some time. Some nights, I will simply have to resist the pull of watching movies in HD. (I can’t resist the hockey games, sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚ ) Some other changes should, I hope, gain me some time during the week.

I’m still writing, I promise. It just takes a while.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by don on January 31, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Just as a fine wine takes time so does fine writing. As a big fan of your stories I can say (least as far as I’m concern) Your stories are worth waiting for.
    That being said I of course am patiently waiting for your next offering. I hope that things settle down soon for you so you can get the time to write

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lady Falcon on February 1, 2012 at 7:23 am

    From my pov as a reader…I don’t have the patience to sit down and flush out characters and plots and string them all together in clear terms so, I am all for the author taking the time to do their thing. I know how hard it is to find time in the day just to do the things you must do like, idk, feed your family; and walk the dog; and help with homework, theirs and get yours done; and laundry; and cleaning; and etc. Not to mention when you do get some “free” time well, I want to spend it sitting on the couch with my family and enjoying them; reminding myself why I drive myself bananas during the day doing all the things I listed above.

    So, in short, as long as you are feeling like you have to write to satisfy anyone other than yourself then you probably will continue to have a hard time finding time. As moms we tend to neglect our own wants to satisfy our families’ wants/needs. Some of us even neglect our own needs. So, CHILL and write when it feels right instead of chastising your self about not writing. ๐Ÿ™‚ It felt like with this blog post you were apologizing…it’s not necessary. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mac on February 3, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I agree with Lady Falcon … no apologies necessary. But, I appreciated the chat and explanation. Some writers go several months between posting anything and that’s when the reader begins to wonder if something terrible has happened in their life, or if they’ve just given up on finishing their story. It’s nice to hear from you and know you are okay … just busy. Thanks for the post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

