Rhythm and the Blue Line

At last! My next hockey story! I have started posting Rhythm and the Blue Line at sites like Literotica, StoriesOnline and LushStories.

It’s been a while, I know, since I’ve posted a longer story. In truth, I’d hoped to get a lot more writing done this year, but it didn’t happen, and that’s the way it goes sometimes. I was working on this for a while and held off posting because I wanted to make sure most of the story was done. I know it’s disappointing when a writer has long lags between installments, and I wanted to avoid that. I think I will.

This story is about a musician, Ryan Bancroft. First thing to know is that Ryan is a woman; second thing is that she’s not much on sports. Sports dominated her life while growing up. Her younger brother, JT, is a football star, and the youngest, Evan, is lighting up the basketball court. Her father, a former football prospect himself, lives and breathes sports and cannot fathom Ryan’s rejection of sports and her turning to music. Ryan then meets Brody Lang, who plays for the Washington Capitals. The last thing she thinks she wants is a relationship with a professional athlete, and tells him so. And if I tell you much more, I’ll spoil the story ahead.

I hope you enjoy, and here’s an excerpt:

“Ooooh, a dare.” Brody widened his eyes. “I can’t back down now. Tell you what: if I absolutely can’t stand the movie and leave, I’ll take you out for sushi some time. If I make it through the whole thing, you have to play me one of your songs.”

“Hey, wait,” Ryan said, startled. “I don’t remember offering to make any bets.”

“Chicken?”

“No!”

“Then what?” Brody asked. He couldn’t help it; it was fun to see her get a little shaken up.

“Why can’t the bet be that I take you out?” she countered.

“Doesn’t work that way.” Brody shook his head. “if I have to take a chance, so do you.” He grinned. “If you don’t like playing in front of people, that should make your gig next month interesting.”

“I’m fine in front of people.” Ryan inclined her chin. “Fine, you’ve got a bet.”

“Cool.” Brody reached over and squeezed her hand, surprising both of them. To cover his discomfort, he stood and gave her a sly smile. “Now, how about that movie?”

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lady Falcon on November 19, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I read it. It was wonderful as usual. I am so happy Brody is getting his story and to be seeing Mark, however briefly, again. I commented on Lit but, because I was reading on my tablet I had to do it anonymously. I did end my comment with my Lady Falcon, though. I can’t wait for the next chapter!

    I talked with the youth group I run at church (1st grade to 5th grade) and they all want to go see a hockey game, so I am shooting for a game in January or February…The Charleston Stingrays is our closest option…its not the NHL but I think it will work. On their Sunday afternoon games if you get there early enough and have your own skates you can get on the ice and some of the team will be out there with you to talk with and skate with…the kids eyes really lit up at that prospect.

    I’ve only been on ice skates once. It was a frozen over rice paddy in South Korea. I went around once without falling and quit while I was ahead. Then I enjoyed my hot chocolate and watched my co-workers skate around and some fell…some didn’t. It was a great day.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brittany on December 22, 2011 at 1:17 am

    I came across Rythm and the Blue Line on an app that I have on my phone. I am ADDICTED! I cant get enough. Read 21 chapters in two days : ) I really like your writting style. Have you written anything else? & Where can I find it?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lady Falcon on December 23, 2011 at 7:02 am

    21 Chapters? On an app? Where? Please tell how you found it or is that a typo? My heart went pitter-patter when I thought about being able to read 21 chapters without waiting between chapters…not to mention…a 21 chapter story on Lit?! I rarely read the ones that are that long.

    Reply

    • There’s a bit of confusion with this story. At LushStories, you have to keep submissions under 10k words and 40k characters. Hence I have to post things in smaller bits. So the current 23 chapters at LushStories will equal the six chapters on other sites like Literotica. I’m a bit surprised that Ch 6 is not up on Lit yet, although I guess they have a lot of stories to go through.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

